Powerful Changes on the Home Front

So, as many know already, my 6 year old has type 1 diabetes. So far, it has been injections by needle 5-6 times each and every day. But on the 9th of Sept. we started what they call a saline trial with an insulin pump. This monday the 16th, she went ‘live’ with it, now having real insulin in it and no injections necessary! Now it’s 1 poke every 2 days (not including finger stick tests, which will never go away unless the technology improves).

This has been huge around our house. Telephone calls, appointments, excitement, arguments… stress. It’s a huge life change that is probably 95% positive, but still stressful and a lot of work. Going on the pump changes so much that they say it’s almost like it was when first diagnosed. I’m now getting up 2 times through the night to obsessively test her. It’s not easy or simple, and it’s an extremely exhausting transition. Well worth it, though!!

 

I feel so lost and behind with everything. The yard is a mess. The house is, while not overtly trashed, far below par. I am personally just so tired. I feel stretched thin and wrung out.

 

I regret in part that this has interfered so dramatically with my writing. I know there are those of you waiting impatiently (yet conversely, patiently) for the next book. I want you to know that I hear you, I feel you. I haven’t forgotten you. I can’t regret doing what I must to care for my daughter, but I do regret the necessity to set other things aside in so doing.

But things are on the move again here. For the next couple of weeks, I can’t lie, it’s still going to be hard here. The first couple of weeks of being on the pump require constant monitoring of her BG levels. So she’ll still be my priority. But something of a reprieve is on its way. Hang in there with me a little longer!

 

Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Disclaimer

The advertisements and News articles from SNF on this site are intended for entertainment purposes only, and the writer is not responsible for misunderstandings or unrealistic expectations of delivery on spoof news articles or spoof advertisements.
